Best of the Best: Ferdinand Furniture Exec Earns Major Nomination

The July/August edition of BizVoice features this article about Best Home Furnishings in Ferdinand. The family-owned furniture manufacturer is a major employer in the area, and has earned a global reputation for the high quality of its products. Furthermore, its founder and chairman Clem Lange was recently among six industry leaders in manufacturing, retail and design to be nominated for the American Furniture Hall of Fame.

Lange and a partner founded Best Home Furnishings in 1962. Fifty years later, the company is still owned and operated by the Lange family, posting over $210 million in sales, employing 850 employees and utilizing more than 1.1 million square feet of manufacturing space in eight southern Indiana locations.  

The nominees will be made Industry Fellows by the American Furniture Hall of Fame Foundation on Oct. 14 in High Point, N.C.

The American Furniture Hall of Fame Foundation is an international, industry-wide organization founded to research, collect and preserve our cultural, economic and artistic history, as well as to honor individuals whose outstanding achievements have contributed to the continued growth and development of the U.S. furniture industry. For more information on this award, visit

Chamber Names Indiana’s ‘Best Buy’ Schools

Chamber officials are traveling the state today (and tomorrow) recognizing the schools that warranted our "Best Buy" label this year. See below for a description of the award and this year’s honorees (and view the full report here):

For 2009, 135 public high schools were designated as a "best buy" for giving taxpayers the most value for their money.  Two methods determined this honor. A school was named a best buy if it had a quality index above the state median and revenues below the statewide median of $10,179 per student. The second method was by having a quality index ranking that was 20% higher than the school’s revenue ranking.

In addition, from the best buy group, 26 high schools were given the "honor roll" distinction for excelling academically despite having at-risk student demographics above the statewide median. For their exemplary efforts, the top five schools from the best buy and honor roll lists were then selected as "head of the class" members.

The 2009 "head of the class" selections are:

– Adams Central High School in Monroe (Adams County);
– Forest Park Jr.-Sr. High School in Ferdinand (Dubois County);
– North Central High School in Indianapolis (Marion County);
– Northwestern High School in Kokomo (Howard County);
– Plainfield High School (Hendricks County);
– Plymouth High School (Marshall County);
– Signature School in Evansville (Vanderburgh County).
– South Adams Jr.-Sr. High School in Berne (Adams County);
– Triton Jr.-Sr. High School in Bourbon (Marshall County); and
– Warsaw Community High School (Kosciusko County).