Battery Power Like We’ve Never Seen Before

Later today, a sign of Indiana innovation officially comes online. The $15.6 million Battery Innovation Center (BIC), launched by Energy Systems Network (ESN) in 2012, is complete and open for business at [email protected] Technology Park adjacent to Naval Surface Warfare Center (NSWC) Crane.

A dozen corporate members will soon begin battery research and development projects at the BIC, including: AeroVironment, Concurrent Technologies Corporation (CTC), EaglePicher, Eaton Corporation, Ivy Tech Community College, MEGTEC, Penn State University, Purdue University, Renewz, Science Applications International Corporation (SAIC), Stimulus Engineering and Technical Services Corporation (TSC).

The world-class facility, its capabilities and member companies will be highlighted in a ribbon cutting ceremony featuring Indiana Lt. Governor Sue Ellspermann and Congressman Larry Bucshon (8th District). The  WestGate Academy event in Odon takes place at 11 a.m.

The Indiana Chamber's Matt Ottinger updated BizVoice magazine readers recently on the impact of Crane, with a full-page sidebar on the BIC. Read what Charles LaSota, BIC president and former Navy captain and Crane commander, has to say about the facility.

U.S. Chamber Honors Pro-Business Members of Congress

The U.S. Chamber of Commerce recently honored members of Congress (252 in the House; 48 Senators) for their pro-jobs, pro-growth stances with the annual Spirit of Enterprise Award.

“In the face of high-stakes politics and difficult choices, legislators from both parties provided America’s job creators with a strong voice in Congress,” said Thomas J. Donohue, president and CEO of the U.S. Chamber. “This award recognizes these men and women for consistently demonstrating their support for pro-growth policies.”

The Chamber’s prestigious Spirit of Enterprise Award, in its 25th year, is given annually to members of Congress based on key business issues outlined in the Chamber publication How They Voted. Members who support the Chamber’s position on at least 70% of those votes qualify to receive the award.

The Chamber scored Congress on 8 Senate and 12 House votes in 2012, including reauthorization of the Export-Import Bank of the United States, the establishment of Permanent Normal Trade Relations (PNTR) with Russia, and the reauthorization of surface transportation legislation. Also scored were votes to repeal onerous provisions in the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, improve the process by which regulations are promulgated, and better secure the United States from cyber threats.

To view a complete list of the 2012 Spirit of Enterprise recipients, please visit

Those from Indiana are:

Sen. Dan Coats
Sen. Richard G. Lugar
Rep. Joseph Donnelly (IN-2)
Rep. Marlin A. Stutzman (IN-3)
Rep. Todd Rokita (IN-4)
Rep. Dan Burton (IN-5)
Rep. Mike Pence (IN-6)
Rep. Larry Bucshon (IN -8)
Rep. Todd Young (IN-9)